2014 American Poker Awards honor top players, industry leaders and operators

It was a busy weekend for the poker industry’s most colleagues and professional players as many gathered in Beverly Hills, CA to take part in the first annual American Poker Awards. Presented by the Global Poker Index (GPI) and sponsored by PokerStars, a total of 14 awards were delivered Friday evening, immediately following the Global Poker Conference at the SLS Hotel.

2014 American Poker Awards Winners

The American Poker Awards kicked off at 8:30pm on February 27, hosted by Canadian poker pro and TV personality Kara Scott. The APA honored “players, industry leaders, and operators from the North American Poker World.” Without further ado, let’s take a look at some of the winners of the inaugural poker awards ceremony.

2014 Top Player in the World – Dan Smith

Dan Smith was bestowed with one of the most esteemed poker awards of the night, named the 2014 Top Player in the World. The American poker pro from Las Vegas has harvest more than $8.8 million in live events dating back to 2008, but last year was truly a stellar performance for Smith. He cashed in 14 major live poker tournaments for $3.186 million, including a $2mm 1st place victory at the Bellagio’s $100k Super High Roller.

2014 Tournament Performance of the Year – Mark Newhouse

Mark Newhouse received the American Poker Awards title of 2014 Tournament Performance of the Year after finishing 9th place in the WSOP Main Event. Making his execution all the more memorable, Newhouse managed to repeat his 9th place WSOP performance for the last two years straight.

2014 Breakout Player of the Year – Brandon Shack-Harris

Brandon Shack-Harris has been earning relatively small cashes on the live circuit since 2010, but as the poker awards’ name implies, 2014 was a breakout year for the American poker pro. After cashing in 7 events between 2010-2013, Shack-Harris pulled in 10 paychecks from live events in 2014, including a bracelet win at the WSOP’s PLO Event #3 worth $205,634. He would go on to cash in 5 more WSOP events last year in Las Vegas worth over $1 million, plus three more cashes in WSOP-APAC.

2014 GPI Player of the Year – Daniel Coleman

No poker player had a better year than Daniel Coleman in 2014. With 11 live event cashes worth near $22.4 million, Coleman shot up to the #3 position on the all-time top money winners list behind Daniel Negreanu and Antonio Esfandiari. Coleman’s 2014 1st place victories include the EPT Grand Final Monte Carlo ($2,127,398), the WSOP Big One for One Drop ($15,306,668), the SHRPO Main Event ($1,446,710 and the WPT Alpha8 Main Event ($957,396).

2014 GPI Female Player of the Year – Vanessa Selbst

Much like her male counterpart Daniel Coleman, Vanessa Selbst also appears on the all-time top money winners list, ranked #1 among female poker pros with $10.61 million. She earned $2.368 million of that in 2014 across 7 cashes, including a WSOP bracelet win at Event #2, $10k NLHE Mixed-Max, worth $871,148.

Full List of 2014 American Poker Awards Winners

2014 Top Player In The World Award

Dan Smith

2014 Charitable Initiative Of The Year Award

“All In” for Kids Poker Tournament presented by CHOP and the WPT Foundation

2014 Tournament Performance Of The Year Award

Mark Newhouse, WSOP Main Event, 9th Place Finisher

2014 Poker’s Best Ambassador Award

Daniel Negreanu

2014 Breakout Player Of The Year Award

Brandon Shack-Harris

2014 GPI Player Of The Year Award

Daniel Colman

2014 GPI Female Player Of The Year Award

Vanessa Selbst

2014 Lifetime Achievement Award

Steve Lipscomb, WPT co-Founder

2014 Poker Media Content Of The Year Award

Brad Willis, WSOP 2014: Stages/Never stop fighting for PokerStars Blog

2014 Poker Innovation Or Initiative Of The Year Award

Twitch opens its doors to live streaming poker

2014 Media Person Of The Year Award

Chris Grove

2014 Industry Person Of The Year Award

Adam Pliska, WPT President

2014 Event Of The Year Award (w/ up to $2k Buy-In)

WSOP Monster Stack (Rio All-Suites Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas)

2014 Event Of The Year Award (w/ $2k+ Buy-In)

World Series of Poker Main Event (Rio All-Suites Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas)

Related Posts